top of page

Why Radiation Therapy?


My biggest WHY is that I want to help people. There are many avenues to do that, which is why other factors may have helped influence this decision.

Let's start by talking about healthcare and Singapore's education system. (I'm not going in depth into education, it may be too controversial.)

The sciences are divided into 3 categories - Physics, Chemistry and Biology. Chemistry is always compulsory for any science student, and on a tertiary level, a student can only take two sciences. This leads to two available options:

- Chemistry & Physics (I took this)

- Chemistry & Biology

I theorise that Physics and Biology are not offered together because they have little in common.

I happen to like the sciences, so having to choose a limited permutation of them was hard.

Radiation Therapy provides the perfect mix, incorporating Physics and Biology together in ways that could otherwise never be possible. This is my second why.

Because of my first why, I also applied to courses like nursing. I do not mind the stigma of being a nurse, or particularly, a male one. But eventually I decided that my heart went out to the cancer patients and sufferers of chronic diseases. It will be satisfying to ease their pain.

As far as I can see, these are my two biggest whys to choosing this career path. Other residual whys include my preference of working in a large physical organisation, like a hospital, which contains amenities that cover almost all aspects of daily life. A jail also falls into this category, but one can easily see how it is a less pleasant environment.

Because my course only begins September 2017, I can't talk about Radiation Therapy in technical detail for now, but I may occasionally post other thoughts and opinions on healthcare and RT in general.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page